Designing the Log in page (desktop)

Another thing people wanted to see during the last critique was perhaps a Log in journey. Since we have decided to make a user journey to show someone commenting, we thought it best to also show someone logging in to the site, as one must do that in order to comment (and also to opt-in to the email news update feature).

I didn’t look at too many examples of a log in page purely because I use them all the time and the visual language is very well known and consistent. I did make sure to check, however, that key secondary elements such as ‘forgot password’ and ‘forgot username’ and the link to the ‘Sign up’ page. I didn’t include a link to a privacy or terms and conditions page because I felt that would be found on the ‘Sign up’ page.

Here is the Google mail Log in page. I drew a little bit of inspiration from it in terms of its simplicity.

I felt like making the Log in page a separate page, (rather than a dropdown from the header) made a nicer journey.

sign in example

(Below: iterations from my Log in page design process)

Below is the final Log in page for the GadgeTree site. In the user journey, this page can be accessed from any page in the site but it will always take you back to homepage once you have logged in. IF GADGETREE WAS A REAL CODED SITE THIS WOULD NOT BE THE CASE. Instead, the user would be taken back to the page they were on so they could carry on with their business.

LOG IN FINAL

-Kane

Leave a comment